I pre-ordered Apple’s Snow Leopard or Social Media Works on the Marketers Too

August 25, 2009 at 11:04 PM Leave a comment

I’m an early adopter. I’m not an early early adopter.  When Apple announced on Monday it’s latest OS X will be made available earlier than September’s planned launch I did what I’ve always done – made a mental note to look into it later.  After all it’s not an iPhone!  People won’t be lining up days in advance to be among the first to experience true 64-bit support or an updated iChat experience on their Macbooks.

Then I started checking my Twitter feeds and followed a couple of links to Snow Leopard related blog posts.   Faster time machine backups and start up times? Better Finder? Smaller memory footprint?  My curiosity was peaked enough to go to Apple.com and see what they have to say.  Satisfied with what I saw, and since I was already there anyway, I did what I’ve never done before.  I pre-ordered the software.  In other words, I followed the social media breadcrumbs, from Twitter to Blog posts to corporate site and completed a purchase . Exactly what I tell my clients can happen and I wasn’t even trying to become a case study.

Apple's newest Operating System

-Information was available through the channels I’ve programmed from people I trust (have influence)
-Links in blog posts direct me to details on corporate  home page – not landing page.
-Pre-order button and purchase integration (saved credit card info) means I can cross this off my list before it was even on it

Truth be told I would have upgraded to Snow Leopard anyway.  Maybe this weekend or maybe in a week.  Now Apple’s got my money and adds one more purchase to their pre-order total.  And they’ve got one more blog post on their new product too.

Win-Win.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Laundrymen Announces Agency 140 as Social Media agency of record The Cobbler’s Kids Don’t Have Shoes or a Facebook Fan Page…Anymore.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter Feed

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Post Archive

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Top Clicks

  • None

